Exciting news!

Wow, it’s been over six months since I’ve last posted! So many things have happened, much of it towards progress and personal development. First things first, there are two more weeks until I fly to Vancouver to start my second west coast tour! The last time I toured was in 2008, which seems light years ago! I’ll be kicking off the tour in Vancouver, at the Cellar Jazz Club, then off to The Beatniq in Calgary, and finally, the Yardbird Suite in Edmonton. If you haven’t made reservations already, do so to get the spots you want 😉  Here are the tour details:

Wednesday, September 14th: The Cellar Jazz Club (www.cellarjazz.com)
8pm and 9:30 sets
Tilden Webb (p), Adam Thomas (b), Jesse Cahill (d)

Friday, September 16th: The Beatniq Jazz & Social Club (www.beatniq.com)
9pm and 10:30 sets
Jim Head (g),  Mike Lent (b), Tyler Hornby (d)

Saturday, September 17th: The Yardbird Suite (www.yardbirdsuite.com)
9pm and 10:30 sets
Jim Head (g), Mike Lent (b), Tyler Hornby (d)

Secondly, I’ve recorded my first EP, called ‘Thoughts and Verses’, which includes original music and arrangements by yours truly. We so excited! Even better was playing with amazing Montreal musicians Jon Day (piano, Hammond B-3 organ) and Fraser Hollins (bass), plus the formidable Greg Ritchie (drums) from New York. I was very fortunate to have Jon Day produce the EP, and have it engineered, mixed and mastered by Tim Gowdy. Take a listen to our work by checking out my *NEW* Facebook Bandpage at: www.listn.to/MayCheung

Thirdly, there are also new photos taken by my wonderful friend Alice Zulkarnain, which can be seen on my Bandpage as well. Go ahead, take a browse.

So if you know of any people in Vancouver, Calgary or Edmonton, let them know I’m in town, and that I’ll be there to share music that I’m excited about. I hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

