Autumn leaves

Autumn in New York is one of the most magical experiences one can witness in a lifetime. There’s something in the cool air that brings the juxtaposition of the concrete buildings and the nature (or lack thereof) surrounding it. A stroll through Central Park is a must, with a camera in hand. Autumn brings with it the renewal of life; showing us that the only constant in life is change.

It’s one of my most favourite seasons, and I can’t wait to start baking, reading, knitting, crocheting and taking photos. I love watching the leaves turn color, watching people replace their summer get-up with their fall gear, but I love – most of all- hitting up cafes and watching people go by.

There were a few warm days before September rolled in, so my roommate Jared and I decided that we would take advantage of the warmth and hike up Bear Mountain, which is located on the west side of the Hudson River in Orange and Rockland counties. Here’s a photo I took of the view when we reached the summit:

It was beautiful to see the peaks and valleys of the nearby mountains and the sun peeking through the floating clouds, casting shadows upon the hills.

I’m currently reading ‘The War of Art’ by Steven Pressfield, and it’s been giving me some insight towards the insidious writing blocks that most artists go through. I highly recommend it to anyone in any field that is faced with any personal “blocks” in their lives.

Music wise, I have a handful of shows coming up, with the electronic duo Pax Humana, and my own group, so be sure to check out my EVENTS page to see where I’m playing!

Here’s a quote I came across recently that I’d like to share: “The reason we struggle with insecurities is because we compare our behind-the-scenes with everyone’s highlight reel.”

-Steve Furtick

Leave a Reply

